top of page

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

What is the EYFS Framework?

Children learn skills and acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development set out in the EYFS frameowrk.  At Ivydale Primary School we recognise that children learn best through play and by being physically active, through first hand experiences and by having opportunities to practice and develop skills, interacting with children and adults and having their interests acknowledged and valued.

The 3 prime areas are the ones that we want children to develop first. These are:

·       Communication and language;

·       Physical development; and

·       Personal, social and emotional development.

These are the most essential areas for your child’s development and future learning.  As children grow, the prime areas help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

·       Literacy;

·       Mathematics;

·       Understanding the world; and

·       Expressive arts and design.

Together these 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs and interests.   Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

How can you help with my child’s learning at home?

All the fun activities that you do with your child at home are important in supporting their learning and development, and have a really long lasting effect on your child’s learning as they progress through school.

Even when your child is very young and is not yet able to talk, talking to them helps them to learn and understand new words and ideas.

bottom of page